top of page

The ‘Famous Doorman’ Audition


Following a less-than-stellar 2017, work-wise, I have spent December feverishly studying whatever online ‘Trade’ gossip I could get my hands on to try to discover how the Movie and TV business will look like this year in town. My first year of Union membership yielded 13 auditions, of which I booked 3 gigs. However, these weren’t the high-paying jobs I was expecting, and none of the auditions my Agent sent me to, worked out. To say I was beginning to get worried about a possible ‘New Reality’ is an understatement.

Of course, my first concerns about these ‘audition fails’ fall on my own shoulders. Is there something wrong with my technique – either in the room or during preparation? Is my ‘look’ just completely wrong? Do I come over as arrogant, confused, or just plain stupid? Every time I complete an audition, the Casting Director complements me. Are these just the same empty words that everyone gets?

My panic is due to the reversal of fortune I have experienced in the last twelve months. As previously mentioned (probably too much) in this blog, my career, financially and artistically, continued to rise in a steady upward trajectory until last year. Then it suddenly stalled. Adding to the sudden drop off in paid work, I elected not to audition for any theatre, in case a big paying Movie or TV job came up at the last minute. Outside of acting, my paying day job also ended. It was a long, expensive year.

The only reason I could see for this was the fact that I was now Union- a process that, as many readers know, is an expensive one to start. Much like a mortgage, you have to be able to come up with the down payment lump sum. Of course, I was also being seen by different Casting Directors, and my competition had changed. There were a couple of auditions where there were ‘names and stars’ in the waiting room with me. Did all of this add up to the fact that I had reached my ceiling and didn’t have the skill to book a gig?

It was surprising, therefore, in early January 2018 to receive an audition notification for a TV Movie role. Not the usual time of year, for sure. Of course, I only got it the evening before the audition, and only had time to commit my three lines to memory. I imagined a liveried Hotel Doorman (see picture), and couldn’t dress like him. I felt panicked and just not ready. There were at least four other guys that had signed in before me and the next actor through the door looked at me after signing in: “Aah! The famous Doorman.” he confided, as if the role was a well-known money-earner that I couldn't land.

So, with no time to prep, nothing to wear to show the Producers that I could look like the role, too many people up for it that may be better known and a Casting Director new to me, guess what? I booked the role!

You can never tell when the opportunity will arise. Your past record at auditions, even acting in a booked role, has no bearing on what happens today at that audition. It doesn’t matter if the CD knows you or not, or even who else is up for the role. Do the prep you can, show up and do it. You either will, or will not, get the role. It’s worth reminding yourself of these simple, yet baffling rules. Most of your demons are inside you.

Suddenly, my awful year has been forgotten, and I have nothing but confident excitement for the twelve months ahead.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
Follow Us
No tags yet.
bottom of page